Legends of the Game
September 29, 2015
liufadmin (615 articles)
1 comment

Legends of the Game

Where have the legends gone? If you are a true football fan and have been alive since the turn of the new millennium, you will agree with me that the game has changed now compared to 1990s. The beautiful game of football now requires more passes, pace, accuracy and I daresay, less skilled moves. We have watched legends grace the football pitch, been awed by their talents and worshipped as gods in some countries. But among the many legends of the game, there are always a few that stand out in each generation.

Pre-1990 – Edson Arantes do Nascimento (Pele) and Diego Armando Maradona Franco
1990s – Zinedane Zidane, Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima and Ronaldo de Assis Moreira (Ronaldinho)
2000s – Cristiano Ronaldo (CR7) and Lionel Messi

GLASGOW – May 15: Zinedine Zidane and Luis Figo of Real Madrid line-up next to each other before the UEFA Champions League Final between Real Madrid and Bayer Leverkusen played at Hampden Park, in Glasgow, Scotland on May 15, 2002. Real Madrid won the match and cup 2-1. DIGITAL IMAGE. (Photo by Gary M. Prior/Getty Images)

Zidane was a true maestro who was never caught offside in his entire career; he won the FIFA World Player of the Year in 1998 for the first time when he was with Italian champions Juventus in a season which he only registered 3 goals. He was famous for his roulette 360 dribbling skill. At some point in his career, he was in a Real Madrid team that boasted first 11 players being the best players in the world; this is where the name Galacticos came from.

For Ronaldinho, there are not enough words to describe him. He is probably the last truly skillful player in a long while; a player who could perform more skills with the ball than most players in the present generation. His elastic snake bite piece of skill was a joy to watch.

We have other legends who weren’t opportuned to win the World best player Award but are players that kept us glued to our seats once they were on display: Andrea Pirlo, Xavier “Xavi” Hernández Creus, Andres Iniesta Lujan, Augustine “Jay-Jay” Okocha (yes you heard it here first), Thierry Henry, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, John Terry, Paolo Maldini, Alessandro Nesta, Andriy Shevchenko, David Beckham, Didier Drogba, Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard, Michael Ballack, Bastian Schweinsteiger, etc.

David Beckham

Now with Cristiano and Messi winning the FIFA Ballon d’Or every year like it is their God-given right (lol), I wonder how new generation players such as Eden Hazard, Neymar da Silva Santos Júnior, Alexis Sanchez, Ángel Di María, Mario Gotze, Cesc Fabregas, Toni Kroos, Wayne Rooney, Mesut Ozil, Thibaut Coutouis, Manuel Neuer would ever have the chance to truly contend for the Ballon d’Or before it is too late for them?
The world is thirsty for a new sensation. Yes, the world patiently waits.


  1. 他妈的谷歌 May 24, 02:01
    ...Visitor recommendations [...]Wow, superb weblog structure! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for?[...]

Write comment

Only registered users can comment.